Driving In Alaska: Car Insurance Rules and Guidelines
Did you know that Alaska receives over 2 million tourists each year? Alaska is the final frontier, a rough and natural environment that offers unique experiences.
If you are considering visiting Alaska what do you need to know? Do you the difference between driving in Alaska and other states? What insurance do you need?
Simply read on to find out more.
Who Is at Fault?
One of the big differences between Alaska and other states is that it is has a “fault” system for insurance policies. This essentially means that the person who is at fault for the accident also is responsible to cover the cost of damage to the other car and any injured parties.
This level of insurance of course does drive up the average car insurance rates in Alaska. Why not liaise with an auto insurance provider to learn more about how much your premium could be in Alaska?.
If you are wondering how much is car insurance in Alaska? You will need to also take into account liability.
Car insurance in Alaska includes high minimum liability coverage. The minimum amount of liability is as high a $100,000 for bodily harm or death caused by the driver. Authorities also require a minimum of $25,000 for liability against property damage.
Even the basic level of average car insurance in Alaska covers medical bills and compensation for others injured in the accident.
You should be aware that once the policy limit has been reached any additional charges will be asked from you personally. For this reason, it may be better to take out an above-average policy. If you are looking for the best car insurance in Alaska it will come with clauses to protect you financially.
How Much Is Insurance in Alaska?
After considering the above, if you are looking for comprehensive automobile insurance in Alaska, you will pay an average of $1,212 each year. If you are content with a cheaper premium with less coverage you could pay as little as $456.
This is less than the national average making Alaska appealing for many people.
It is important to remember that there are strict laws regarding vehicle registration in Alaska. You must register your vehicle within 10 days of entering the state. You can legally use your unregistered vehicle for 60 days after entering the state.
You can apply for registration from the DMV in the standard way.
All You Need to Know About Driving in Alaska and Much More
Alaska is to many people the final frontier. Touring there is an opportunity to experience natural environments and cultures that are in many ways unique.
If you are considering visiting or even living there, understanding the laws regarding driving in Alaska is a vital first step.
If you would like to learn more about these and similar subjects, then why not keep reading? Our blog page has many more articles that we know you will enjoy.